3 Day Detox Recap!

3Day DetoxDay 1:

Morning: Experimenting with the recipes. I loved the ‘Good Morning Sunshine’ smoothie. It was the perfect pick me up in the morning. However, I did miss my morning coffee. I had a slight morning headache. I also made some skin detox tea to sip in my travel mug, and trick myself that I was getting my morning jolt of caffeine. Each bag of Yogi Skin Detox tea has 18mg of caffeine, compared to 90mg in an 8oz cup of coffee.

Yogi Detox

I had a couple of snacks after my morning smoothie and tea. I cut up some sweet peppers, cucumbers, and carrots. I made the first Immune-Boosting smoothie. The blueberries and cocoa powder combination was not my favorite, but not terrible, and you couldn’t taste the spinach at all! I did a great job of drinking lots of water throughout the day, but I was pretty hungry when I went to sleep.

Day 2:

Another smoothie and more tea. I was alright through the morning. I put off having my afternoon smoothie until I was done working my first job and heading to coach. I didn’t end up drinking it until around 3pm. Even after downing the (delicious) Clear skin smoothie I was still so hungry. I didn’t have anything to snack on except for some cut up peppers. I felt pretty foggy and sluggish. When I got home around 6:30 I made another smoothie, had a banana and a clementine and felt much better. I did have a big headache, but I did a terrible job of staying hydrated on day 2- I definitely made a mental note to drink much more water!

Day 3:

P1110337

I swear, I woke up feeling awesome on the third day! I made another Good Morning Sunshine smoothie, and I didn’t even have the slightest craving for a cup of coffee. This time I was much more prepared, when I left for work I had a bag of mixed vegetables, a dried fruit stick, and a clementine to snack on. I made sure to drink a lot of water throughout the morning and afternoon. I had noticeably more energy and felt just…brighter. I don’t know how to describe it, maybe just clearer. I made the third smoothie when I got home from work. I did cheat a little bit by having a vegetable soup for dinner- that I’m sure had ingredients other than just vegetables. But it was the end of the cleanse (I know, that totally isn’t an excuse).

Day 4 and on:

I woke up with a clear head and no grumbling in my stomach! I didn’t have any cravings, or really any desire to start my day with the sugary junk that I had been eating for breakfast before I started the cleanse. It was much easier for me to eat vegetables, because I actually enjoy eating them again. I have replaced the junk food I have been eating with much healthier choices. Now that I have spent three days resetting my body I don’t want to reverse my progress! Of course, small indulgences are perfectly alright, but that is what they are, indulgences. I will have some dark chocolate or a glass of wine as a small treat, which is much different than my desire to eat cookies for breakfast-(which is gone!). I have added my morning cup of coffee back to my day, but I am now much better about drinking water throughout the day. My skin is brighter and has cleared up quite a bit. I think this is the result of drinking more water, drinking the Yogi Skin Detox tea, and limiting my sodium intake for three days. Overall, this was a fantastic experience and definitely well worth buckling down for three days. Now I just have to keep making healthy choices, but they are now so much easier to make!

Did you try a detox this year, or in previous years? What kind of detox was it? What were your results?!

Leave a Reply

