Honey Roasted Peanuts!

Mmm honey roasted peanuts are pretty darn delicious. I remember eating them as a kid and I still love this sweet and salty snack today. What I don’t like about the store bought version is, you guess it, sketchy ingredients. Some brands of honey roasted peanuts list high fructose corn syrup, and natural flavors on their labels. Even if the peanuts do not have strange or harmful ingredients added they are usually roasted in soybean (probably GMO) oil, or some other form of vegetable oil. I think the honey roasted peanuts taste even better when they are dry roasted, and it makes them a bit healthier.

HoneyRoasted Nuts

I made a mixture of honey roasted peanuts and almonds. Honey roasted almonds are so. damn. good. I also used foil, because I ran out of parchment paper, and that might of been a bad idea. I don’t think I coated them in sugar quick enough and I had a big sticky mess. I don’t think I would of had such a problem if I took my own advice and tossed them with the sugar mixture IMMEDIATELY after they came out of the oven, and if I used parchment paper. Eh, whateva, I eventually peeled all of the peanuts off.

P1090366

If you’re looking for an extra special treat, it would be a fantastic idea to turn these honey roasted peanuts into peanut butter. I bet it would taste absolutely scrumptious. As I have said before, many store bought peanut butters contain unnecessary ingredients. The honey roasted versions of these peanut butters are even worse than their plain counterparts. For instance, Peter Pan Crunchy Honey Roast Peanut Butter contains these vegetable oils, cottonseed oil hydrogenated, rapeseed oil hydrogenated, and partially hydrogenated cottonseed oil. In other words, it contains trans fats. Even the Peanut Pan Natural contains fractionated palm oil. If you make your own at home you can avoid these unhealthy trans fats!
P1090367

Store in airtight container for up to two weeks. Bonus: Your whole house will smell a-mazing.

P1090369Enjoy! Try this recipe with cashews, brazil nuts, or macadamia nuts too! I used these as a topping for a batch of over night oats! I will post that recipe soon. They would also be a great addition to homemade trail mixes, or cookies! I hope you enjoy them as much as I do!

What’s your favorite sweet and salty snack!?

One thought on “Honey Roasted Peanuts!

  1. Pingback: What I Ate Wednesday, Number 3! | yakkaFIT

Leave a Reply

